Digital Memorials

It wasn’t shortly after learning about KimChi’s death that I was inundated with social media notifications. People were messaging me, writing loving posts, and sharing photos they had taken with KimChi. For the next few days, Facebook became a confirmation for me. It confirmed that we shared certain moments together. Confirmed that while I was physically apart, we were always leaving comments and jabbing jokes at one another via the internet.

Eleven days after KimChi died, I setup a blog and Facebook group to keep her memory alive digitally. This was something that came naturally to me and was also a response to the alarming number of people that I found using Facebook to grieve.

Blogging and taking photos of KimChi gave me a sense of control over my situation that I lacked before. It allowed me to confront the reality of her death and to gain a sense of agency in this new world. For the most part, I could channel my emotions and memories of her into a designated when/where/why scenario. When I travel, or see something that reminds me of her, then I can stop what I am doing and engage with her memory when I choose.

Of course, there are those days and times that her absence and memories are not willfully recalled. (Like when my sister took me out for drinks, I had too much, and in my existential-like crisis cried about how KimChi was no longer alive. But that’s an embarrassing tale for another day. (; )

I want to share my journey using blogging, social media, and the internet as a forum to grieve, celebrate, and create new memories.

My hope when I created the KimChi’s Big World Tumblr blog was that people could grieve together, submit photos, and extend the wishes she held in life. One of her sincerest wishes that she always shared with me was to travel. And that gave me an idea.

On this blog, I curate images that are taken by people in various locations around the world. Most of the pictures show a hand holding a photo of KimChi in the foreground with some landmark in the background. I note the photographer’s name, location, and date taken.

KimChiPisa

“The Leaning Tower of Pisa, Italy.” Taken by Sam O’Brien. Received July 6th, 2012. Source.

This style came to me from following blogs such as Instagram’s GirlEatWorld or from watching the AT&T Superbowl commercial ‘Sweet Pea’. The focus of the image is typically a photo of KimChi, but the background is usually so impressive that it leaves you with this obscure feeling, ‘Which is more powerful: foreground or background?’ and this question prompts further inquiry into the story of the girl in the photo.

In our high school art class, we would (poorly) plan our future travel adventures. Backpacking through Europe, teaching English in Southeast Asia, driving cross-country, and more. There was not a destination that discouraged us because the trip with one another was the destination. So, her digital memorial would have to involve traveling. At least, this is what made sense to me.

So the KimChi’s Big World blog is more like an art project than a traditional blog. I recently created this blog, With One’s Next Breath, to focus on death in a more general sense. It is also a chance for me to express myself, ideas, and feelings in writing.

KimChi-Remembering-Facebook-DigitalMemorial

Facebook updated KimChi’s personal profile page to read “Remembering Kim Chi Son.”

Now, wait a second. How did Facebook know that she died? The likely answer is that someone submitted to Facebook’s ‘Report a Deceased Person’ to switch KimChi’s page into a memorialized status.

This leads to the next question: How can Facebook know what my wishes are in regards to my profile in the event of my death?

Well, as it turns out, Facebook has a FAQ to answer this and to let you chose “in advance” if you prefer that your profile be memorialized or deleted.

So, if you are interested in setting your account to be memorialzed or deleted when you die, make sure to visit your settings! As social media grows its user base, so too will it grow its number of deceased users. My generation will be setting the groundwork for grieving digitally.

(FYI… Facebook automatically sets your account to be memorialized. It’s up to you to either; (a) select a legacy contact, or (b) set your account to be deleted. I selected my sister as my legacy contact and she was quite surprised when Facebook notified her! So, if you designate a legacy contact I suggest giving them a heads up!)

But the decision on keeping or dismantling a loved one’s Facebook account is very personal. Many social media users see their timelines, photos, and events as validation for their experiences, accomplishments, and relationships. Some do not want a reminder to be casually shared on their timelines. This is a topic that demands reflection as social media platforms enter into a stage of increasing numbers of deceased users.

Digital memorials are a new ground for us to explore. There is no reason for us to separate death from everyday life. So, it only makes sense that we begin to understand how we will use social media to cope.

This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

